Valentine’s Day!

Is Valentine’s Day a real holiday? Of course it is! Candy (which we didn’t partake of this year because #nocandy2017 for our little family). Cards. Parties at school. Getting to express your love to your lover. No real pressure for gifts. Chick flicks. What more could we ask for?! Work off. We could ask for work off. I’m just kidding, but my sister does claim it’s not a real holiday because she doesn’t get work off; that is a very valid point.

Regardless of whether you believe in the holiday or not, it was Rooney’s first Valentine’s Day so of course we rocked it. For starters, we keep our little Christmas tree up year round. We have since our first Christmas together because I love Christmas trees, and I think they bring a lot of happiness. So, why put it down? This year I have allotted myself $10 per holiday to spend on small crafts and decorations for our tree. Basically, $10 to blow in the Target dollar section because that section is life.

Here’s our tree hahah. Beautiful isn’t she?

dsc_0140

Rooney (me) decorated some cards for his cousins and great-grandparents for the very special holiday. It was a wonderful experience for all of us.

dsc_0150

He loved it. He loved it so much. Definitely his favorite holiday.

dsc_0152dsc_0151

Can you even handle his little hand print? It’s too precious for words. dsc_0154

Some turned out better than others… obviously. dsc_0164

I could never leave you without a recipe find! This recipe is Vegan Chocolate Banana Muffins from Two Peas & Their Pod. I am obsessed with Two Peas & Their Pod. She has so many good recipes on her blog and Instagram. When I first tasted these muffins I was like, “Yeah…they’re okay. I’m not in love.” Then I ate them every day for two weeks straight. So, I really like them. I eat breakfast every morning then I pack one or two of these muffins for a snack later in the day. I froze half of the batch so they wouldn’t go bad as quickly, and I just pop them in the microwave before I leave. So easy and a good snack for when I get hungry while I’m out.

The dough kind of looks so disgusting, but this is just so you can get an idea of what it should look like. I thought it was odd, but then I tasted it and it was delicious. I did omit the chocolate chips because I’m not crazy on chocolate, and that was a mistake. Add the chocolate chips. Don’t be a fool like me. I ended up adding a few on top of some of the muffins to help with that.

dsc_0128

I had to make mini muffins because I only own two mini muffin pans (?) which is a serious problem that I never seem to fix. It works though!

dsc_0131dsc_0134

Again, heres the link to the recipe.

Happy Valentine’s Day to all! One week late. It’s my favorite holiday. So much love love love.

xox (because we’re a family that kisses on the lips)

Leave a Reply

